2009 European Conference on Nematode Neurobiology  
Poster titles can be found here          

Preliminary Programme


All talks will be 12 minutes, plus 3 minutes for questions. Please contact the organisers at wormmeeting@mrc-lmb.cam.ac.uk if you have any questions or special needs.

21 September

13:00-17:30 Meeting registration open
17:30-18:15 Dinner
19:00-22:00 Platform session: BEHAVIOUR (Chair: Queelim Ch'ng)

Mark Alkema (UMass, Worcester): Tyraminergic control of a C. elegans escape response

Ithai Rabinowitch (LMB, Cambridge): How the nervous system adjusts to the loss of a sensory input

Evgenia Megalou (IMBB, Heraklion): An acid-sensing ion channel mediates associative learning in C. elegans by modulating dopamine signaling

Vincent O'Connor (Southampton): Pumping off Food (PoffF): A neuromodulatable adaptive response to chronic food withdrawal

Birgitta Olofsson (Cambridge): Optimal foraging in C.elegans

Patrick Laurent (LMB, Cambridge): The complex regulations of neuropeptide secretion in neurons

Liesbet Temmerman (Leuven): Unravelling neuropeptide function by a combined transcriptome and proteome study

Maria Olmedo (Groningen): The circadian clock in C. elegans

Ellen Meelkop (Leuven): Tracking circadian rhythms in Caenorhabditis elegans

Henrik Bringmann (MPI, Göttingen): Sleep and waking during larval development
22 September

7:30-8:45 Breakfast
9:00-12:00 Platform Session:  SENSORY MECHANISMS (Chair: Henrik Bringmann)

Roger Pocock (Copenhagen): Hypoxic regulation of behaviour via induction of serotonin expression

Emanuel Busch (LMB, Cambridge): How multiple sensors shape responses to oxygen

Andrew Bretscher (LMB, Cambridge): Sensory neurons regulating C. elegans carbon dioxide avoidance behaviour

Adi Alberg (Hebrew Univ, Jerusalem): Functional analysis of multi-dendritic neurons

Marios Chatzigeorgiou (LMB, Cambridge): TRP and DEG channels sense noxious stimuli in nociceptor neurons

Denise Walker (Cambridge): Inositol 1,4,5-trisphosphate signalling regulates the avoidance response to nose touch

Gert Jansen (Erasmus, Rotterdam): Molecular mechanism of salt taste

Paola Jurado (Nagoya): Insights into the molecular mechanisms of Caenorhabditis elegans memory

Wolfgang Maier (FMI, Basel): The sensory nervous system acts through a neuromedin U receptor to mediate food type-dependent effects on lifespan

Astrid Cornils (FMI, Basel): Specific insulin-like peptides translate distinct sensory information to regulate C. elegans development

12:00-13:00 Lunch

13:00-15:00 Platform Session: METHODS AND TECHNOLOGY (Chair: Netta Cohen)

Tadas Jucikas (LMB, Cambridge): Worm Analysis Toolbox 1.0: A worm behaviour analysis toolbox for single Worm Tracker 2.0

Juliette Ben Arous (ENS, Paris): Automated imaging of neuronal activity in freely behaving nematodes

Stefano Berri (Leeds): An integrated model of C. elegans forward locomotion

Ursula Schäffer (Freiburg): A tetracycline controllable gene expression system for C. elegans

Christian Stigloher (ENS Paris): EM-tomographic reconstruction of synaptic architecture

15:00-17:15 POSTER SESSION
17:30-18:30 Dinner

19:30-20:30 PLENARY TALK: Martin Chalfie, Columbia University

23 September

7:30-8:45 Breakfast
9:00-12:00 Platform session:  NEURONAL CELL BIOLOGY AND DEVELOPMENT (Chair: Roger Pocock)

Christian Neri (INSERM, Paris): A unified rationale for neuroprotective intervention based on the interplay between neurodevelopmental genes and the FoxO longevity pathway

Susann Lehmann (Nottingham): Using C. elegans to target kinases regulating muscular dystrophies and protein degradation

Aileen Moloney (Oxford): The Caenorhabditis elegans orthologue of PICALM, UNC-11, helps protects against ß-amyloid toxicity

Gabrielle Senti (Karolinska): Worms with a single functional sensory cilium generate proper neuron-specific behavioral output

Juan Carlos Fierro (Karolinska): The thioredoxin TRX-1 modulates the activity of the insulin signaling pathway to regulate dauer formation in C. elegans

Joost Broekhuis (Erasmus, Rotterdam): The Golgi protein SQL-1/GMAP210 modulates Intraflagellar Transport in C. elegans

Julia Sämann (Freiburg): LRK-1 and PINK1 regulate axon guidance and cell migration via CED-10 and MIG-2 in C. elegans

Luis Briseno-Roa (ENS, Paris): Partner identification and structure-function analysis of the ACR clustering molecule LEV-10

Alex Gottschalk (Frankfurt): An ER-resident membrane protein complex regulates nAChR subunit composition at the synapse

Giovanni Lesa (UCL): LC-PUFAs contribute to synaptojanin localization at release sites via an endophilin-independent pathway

12:00-13:00 Lunch


For information, contact Bill Schafer (wschafer[at]mrc-lmb.cam.ac.uk)