Sarah Teichmann elected to EMBO membership

Sarah Teichmann 10th Francis Crick LectureSarah Teichmann, from the LMB’s Structural Studies Division, has been named in the European Molecular Biology Organization (EMBO) list of new members announced on 9 May 2012.

EMBO elects new members annually on the basis of scientific excellence and for outstanding research contributions. Sarah is one of 55 eminent life scientists selected for membership in 2012.
EMBO Membership is a life-long honour and Sarah joins a membership of 1,550 of the world’s foremost molecular biologists.

Sarah’s research spans genomics, computational and systems biology. Her group’s discoveries include important general principles in classification, evolution and assembly of multi-domain proteins and protein complexes that will improve engineering and manipulation of protein complexes, and aid quaternary structure predictions. They have shown how transcriptional regulatory networks in prokaryotes and eukaryotes evolve by gene duplication, and how network topology is dynamically adapted in response to diverse cellular conditions.

The group’s current work, applying next generation sequencing and single molecule techniques to T helper cells, has revealed two distinct abundant classes of mRNAs in metazoan cell populations, as well as individual discoveries relevant to T helper cell biology. The balance between T helper cell subtypes is key to infection, autoimmunity and cancer
Sarah’s scientific output has already been recognized with a number of accolades, including: the EMBO Young Investigator Award 2003, the Shell Science & Technology Woman of the Future Award 2009, the Biochemical Society’s Colworth Medal 2010, and the Lister Research Prize Lecture 2011. She has also been selected to deliver the Crick Lecture at the Royal Society in 2012.

Further references:

Sarah Teichmann’s group leader web page
EMBO press release