LMB Alumni News

From its earliest days the LMB has attracted and trained first class scientists from around the world – creating a diverse community for the exchange of ideas and technical innovation. The LMB provides excellent opportunities for early career and established researchers – people with the potential to lead their field. A high percentage of LMB students and post-docs stay in research or science related fields after they leave the LMB. The LMB supports the wider scientific community by supplying highly trained scientific leaders. They leave the LMB to develop and support molecular biology both in the UK and throughout the world.

Melina Schuh awarded a 2019 Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize

dfg logo

LMB 2008-2016, group leader, Cell Biology

The latest recipients of Germany’s most prestigious research prize, the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize have been announced, and includes former LMB group leader, Melina Schuh. Melina has been selected for her fundamental research into reproductive biology. More…


Thomas Baden, Yanlan Mao and Peter Sarkies among twenty-six new EMBO Young Investigators


Thomas Baden, LMB 2008-2010, post-doctoral researcher, Neurobiology; Yanlan Mao, LMB 2004-2008, PhD student & post-doctoral researcher, Cell Biology; Peter Sarkies, LMB 2008 -2011, PhD student, PNAC

LMB Alumni Thomas Baden, Yanlan Mao and Peter Sarkies are among 26 life science researchers within their first four years as group leaders to become EMBO Young Investigators. They join an active network of 102 current and 314 past Young Investigators and will receive support from EMBO during the foundation of their first independent laboratory. More…


Daniel McGillivray Brown. 3 February 1923-24 April 2012

Roy Society publishing logo

LMB 1982-2007, Attached Scientist, PNAC

Dan Brown was a nucleic acids chemist of the highest order, beginning with pioneering work under Lord Alexander Todd in the 1950s at University of Cambridge on chemical methods for synthesis of nucleosides and nucleotides. In 1982 he moved to the LMB and developed a method to prepare single-stranded DNA probes for detection of RNA sequences and worked on a novel automated device for oligonucleotide synthesis.  Dan’s Royal Society Biographical Memoir, written by Mike Gait, has just been published. More…


Johannes Kohl wins the 2018 Eppendorf & Science Prize for Neurobiology

LMB 2009-2014, PhD student, Neurobiology

Johannes Kohl, a former PhD student from Greg Jefferis’ group in the LMB’s Neurobiology division, is the grand prize winner in The Eppendorf & Science Prize for Neurobiology for research that makes sense of how a cluster of neurons controls parenting behaviour in mice. More…


Susan Shao and Tanmay Bharat appointed as 2018 Vallee Scholars

Sichen Shao, LMB 2011-2016, junior research fellow, Cell Biology. Tanmay Bharat, LMB 2013-2017, post-doctoral fellow, Structural Studies

LMB alumni Susan Shao and Tanmay Bharat are two of the five scientists to be awarded prestigious Vallee Scholarships in 2018. The Vallee Scholars program makes grants to outstanding, young, independent investigators carrying out basic biomedical research. More…


Joan Argetsinger Steitz wins the 2018 Lasker-Koshland Special Achievement Award in Medical Science

Albert and Mary Lasker Foundation logo

LMB 1967-1970, post-doctoral researcher, Molecular Genetics

Joan Argetsinger Steitz, a former post-doctoral researcher at the LMB, has been awarded the 2018 Lasker-Koshland Special Achievement Award in Medical Science for four decades of leadership in biomedical research and in scientific mentorship. More…


Melina Schuh writes about the turning point in her career: becoming a group leader, and a mother

nature cell biology logo

LMB 2008-2016, group leader, Cell Biology

Melina Schuh, a former group leader in the LMB’s Cell Biology Division, has written about her experiences setting up her group at the LMB while also starting a family, for a Focus on Women in Science collection of articles in Nature Cell Biology. More…


Clemens Plaschka wins the 2018 Walther Flemming Award from the German Society for Cell Biology

LMB 2016-2018, post-doctoral researcher, Structural Studies

Clemens Plaschka, a former post-doctoral researcher in Kiyoshi Nagai’s group in the LMB’s Structural Studies Division, has won the 2018 Walther Flemming Award. The German Society for Cell Biology gives this award annually to young researchers for outstanding scientific merits in cell biological research. More…


Alexey Amunts is appointed Head of the program for Biology of Molecular Interactions by SciLifeLab

LMB 2010-2016, postdoctoral researcher, Structural Studies

Science for Life Laboratory (SciLifeLab) is a collaboration hub for the top research institutions in Sweden, providing the country’s largest life sciences infrastructure. Alexey Amunts has been appointed Head of the program for Biology of Molecular Interactions, which comprises 23 groups researching everything from photosynthesis through to anti-cancer therapeutics. More…


Luca Jovine and Leonid Sazanov elected to EMBO membership

EMBO logo

Luca Jovine, LMB, 1994 -1998 & 1999-2000, PhD student & postdoctoral visitor, Structural Studies. Leonid Sazanov, LMB, 1997-1999, postdoctoral researcher, PNAC

LMB alumni Luca Jovine and Leonid Sazanov have been newly elected as members of the European Molecular Biology Organisation (EMBO), on the basis of their scientific excellence and outstanding research contributions. More…