LMB Alumni News

From its earliest days the LMB has attracted and trained first class scientists from around the world – creating a diverse community for the exchange of ideas and technical innovation. The LMB provides excellent opportunities for early career and established researchers – people with the potential to lead their field. A high percentage of LMB students and post-docs stay in research or science related fields after they leave the LMB. The LMB supports the wider scientific community by supplying highly trained scientific leaders. They leave the LMB to develop and support molecular biology both in the UK and throughout the world.

Julian Rayner is appointed the new Director of the Cambridge Institute of Medical Research

LMB 1993-1998, PhD student & post-doctoral researcher, Cell Biology

Julian Rayner, a former PhD student in Hugh Pelham’s group in the LMB’s Cell Biology Division, will become the fourth Director of the Cambridge Institute of Medical Research. More…


Rupert Beale joins the Francis Crick Institute as a new group leader

LMB 2001-2006 & 2009-2011, PhD student & postdoctoral visitor, PNAC

Rupert Beale, a former PhD student with Michael Neuberger and post-doctoral researcher working with Felix Randow, is profiled as the first clinical early-career group leader at the Francis Crick Institute. More…


Tanmay Bharat wins the EMBL Alumni John Kendrew Award 2019

LMB 2013-2017, postdoctoral fellow, Structural Studies

Tanmay Bharat, a former post-doctoral researcher in Jan Löwe’s group, and previously a PhD student with John Briggs at EMBL, wins for his novel applications of electron cryo-tomography in visualising the molecular structures of bacterial biofilms. The John Kendrew Award recognises excellence in science by any pre- or post-doctoral alumni of EMBL, up to seven years after they have left EMBL. More…


John Thomas Finch. 28 February 1930-5 December 2017

Roy Society publishing logo

LMB 1961-2012, senior scientist, Structural Studies

John Finch was a gifted experimentalist who used X-ray crystallography and electron microscopy to elucidate the structures of important biological assemblies, particularly viruses and chromatin. His early work on crystals of viruses was important in establishing their symmetry, and later with the electron microscope he mapped out the molecular structure of many virus coats. His observations on negatively stained preparations demonstrated that images of particles prepared in this way represented projections of fully stained embedded particles, not merely one-sided footprints. This was very relevant to the development of methods for making three-dimensional maps of specimens from electron micrographs. John’s Royal Society Biographical Memoir, written by Tony Crowther and Ken Holmes, has recently been published. More…


Melina Schuh awarded a 2019 Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize

dfg logo

LMB 2008-2016, group leader, Cell Biology

The latest recipients of Germany’s most prestigious research prize, the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize have been announced, and includes former LMB group leader, Melina Schuh. Melina has been selected for her fundamental research into reproductive biology. More…


Thomas Baden, Yanlan Mao and Peter Sarkies among twenty-six new EMBO Young Investigators


Thomas Baden, LMB 2008-2010, post-doctoral researcher, Neurobiology; Yanlan Mao, LMB 2004-2008, PhD student & post-doctoral researcher, Cell Biology; Peter Sarkies, LMB 2008 -2011, PhD student, PNAC

LMB Alumni Thomas Baden, Yanlan Mao and Peter Sarkies are among 26 life science researchers within their first four years as group leaders to become EMBO Young Investigators. They join an active network of 102 current and 314 past Young Investigators and will receive support from EMBO during the foundation of their first independent laboratory. More…


Daniel McGillivray Brown. 3 February 1923-24 April 2012

Roy Society publishing logo

LMB 1982-2007, Attached Scientist, PNAC

Dan Brown was a nucleic acids chemist of the highest order, beginning with pioneering work under Lord Alexander Todd in the 1950s at University of Cambridge on chemical methods for synthesis of nucleosides and nucleotides. In 1982 he moved to the LMB and developed a method to prepare single-stranded DNA probes for detection of RNA sequences and worked on a novel automated device for oligonucleotide synthesis.  Dan’s Royal Society Biographical Memoir, written by Mike Gait, has just been published. More…


Johannes Kohl wins the 2018 Eppendorf & Science Prize for Neurobiology

LMB 2009-2014, PhD student, Neurobiology

Johannes Kohl, a former PhD student from Greg Jefferis’ group in the LMB’s Neurobiology division, is the grand prize winner in The Eppendorf & Science Prize for Neurobiology for research that makes sense of how a cluster of neurons controls parenting behaviour in mice. More…


Susan Shao and Tanmay Bharat appointed as 2018 Vallee Scholars

Sichen Shao, LMB 2011-2016, junior research fellow, Cell Biology. Tanmay Bharat, LMB 2013-2017, post-doctoral fellow, Structural Studies

LMB alumni Susan Shao and Tanmay Bharat are two of the five scientists to be awarded prestigious Vallee Scholarships in 2018. The Vallee Scholars program makes grants to outstanding, young, independent investigators carrying out basic biomedical research. More…


Joan Argetsinger Steitz wins the 2018 Lasker-Koshland Special Achievement Award in Medical Science

Albert and Mary Lasker Foundation logo

LMB 1967-1970, post-doctoral researcher, Molecular Genetics

Joan Argetsinger Steitz, a former post-doctoral researcher at the LMB, has been awarded the 2018 Lasker-Koshland Special Achievement Award in Medical Science for four decades of leadership in biomedical research and in scientific mentorship. More…