LMB Alumni News

From its earliest days the LMB has attracted and trained first class scientists from around the world – creating a diverse community for the exchange of ideas and technical innovation. The LMB provides excellent opportunities for early career and established researchers – people with the potential to lead their field. A high percentage of LMB students and post-docs stay in research or science related fields after they leave the LMB. The LMB supports the wider scientific community by supplying highly trained scientific leaders. They leave the LMB to develop and support molecular biology both in the UK and throughout the world.

Alexey Amunts is appointed Head of the program for Biology of Molecular Interactions by SciLifeLab

LMB 2010-2016, postdoctoral researcher, Structural Studies

Science for Life Laboratory (SciLifeLab) is a collaboration hub for the top research institutions in Sweden, providing the country’s largest life sciences infrastructure. Alexey Amunts has been appointed Head of the program for Biology of Molecular Interactions, which comprises 23 groups researching everything from photosynthesis through to anti-cancer therapeutics. More…


Luca Jovine and Leonid Sazanov elected to EMBO membership

EMBO logo

Luca Jovine, LMB, 1994 -1998 & 1999-2000, PhD student & postdoctoral visitor, Structural Studies. Leonid Sazanov, LMB, 1997-1999, postdoctoral researcher, PNAC

LMB alumni Luca Jovine and Leonid Sazanov have been newly elected as members of the European Molecular Biology Organisation (EMBO), on the basis of their scientific excellence and outstanding research contributions. More…


Magdalena Skipper appointed editor-in-chief at Nature

LMB 1994-1998, PhD student, Cell Biology

Magdalena Skipper has been appointed editor-in-chief at Nature, becoming the first woman to hold the role in its almost 150-year history. More…


Melina Schuh awarded Biochemical Society Colworth Medal

LMB 2008-2016, senior investigator scientist, Group Leader, Cell Biology

Melina Schuh has been awarded the Biochemical Society 2019 Colworth medal.  Melina investigates how chromosome segregation errors arise during the meiotic divisions of mammalian eggs.  Now at the Max-Planck-Institute for Biophysical Chemistry, Germany, Melina carried out a significant part of her independent research at the LMB. More…


LMB alumni involved in the opening of a new state-of-the-art cryo-EM facility at the University of Leicester

John Schwabe, LMB 1987-1994 & 1997-2006, PhD student, postdoctoral fellow, Group Leader, Structural Studies. Christos Savva, LMB 2013-2017, research support, Structural Studies.

A new state-of-the art cryo-EM facility has opened at the University of Leicester. Professor John Schwabe, Director of the Leicester Institute of Structural and Chemical Biology, led the region-wide big to the Wellcome Trust-MRC initiative to establish the new facility at Leicester, which will be managed by Christos Savva. More…


Alexey Amunts’ group at Stockholm University determine the structure of the chlororibosome

LMB 2010-2016, postdoctoral researcher, Structural Studies

Alexey Amunts’ group at Stockholm University have determined the structure of the chlororibosome using cryo electron microscopy. The chlororibosome synthesises the energy-making protein components that drive oxygenic photosynthesis in chloroplasts. This work reveals unexpected insights into this central protein synthesis machinery in plants and provides a new perspective for the investigation of the evolution of translation and its regulation. More…


John Sulston (1942-2018): looking back at the pioneering life and work of this Nobel Prize-winning scientist

LMB 1969-1992, Group Leader, Cell Biology

Nature looks back at the life and work of John Sulston, from his time investigating cell fate, lineage and the genetics of C. elegans at the LMB, to his involvement with the Human Genome Project. More…


Alan Brown joins the Department of Biological Chemistry and Molecular Pharmacology at Harvard Medical School as a new group leader

LMB 2012-2017, Scientific Staff, Structural Studies

Alan Brown reflects on taking on the position of Assistant Professor at Harvard Medical School, his new research focus and how he first became interested in science. More…


Dr Varodom Charoensawan wins the 2018 FAOBMB Young Scientist Award

LMB 2007-2010, PhD student, Structural Studies

Dr Varodom Charoensawan, former PhD student in the LMB’s Structural Studies Division, has been awarded the FAOBMB Young Scientist Award for his work on the systems regulating gene expression. The FAOBMB promotes biochemistry and molecular biology particularly in Asia and Oceania. More…


Sarah Teichmann awarded the Genetics Society’s 2018 Mary Lyon Medal

Sarah Teichmann, LMB 1996-1999 & 2001-2013, PhD student & programme leader, Structural Studies Division

Sarah Teichamnn has received the Genetics Society’s prestigious Mary Lyon Medal 2018 for “outstanding research” in understanding how the immune system works by using genomics and bioinformatics approaches. More…