LMB Alumni News

From its earliest days the LMB has attracted and trained first class scientists from around the world – creating a diverse community for the exchange of ideas and technical innovation. The LMB provides excellent opportunities for early career and established researchers – people with the potential to lead their field. A high percentage of LMB students and post-docs stay in research or science related fields after they leave the LMB. The LMB supports the wider scientific community by supplying highly trained scientific leaders. They leave the LMB to develop and support molecular biology both in the UK and throughout the world.

Cell scientist to watch – Sabine Petry

Journal of cell science logo

Sabine Petry, LMB 2003-2007, PhD Student, Structural Studies

Originally from Germany, Sabine received her Diploma (MSc) from Goethe University and undertook her Master’s thesis at the Max Planck Institute of Biophysics. She then moved to the UK to pursue a PhD under the supervision of Venki Ramakrishnan at the MRC LMB. In 2008, Sabine started her postdoctoral work in the laboratory of Ron Vale at the University of California, San Francisco as an EMBO fellow and then an HHMI postdoctoral fellow of the Life Science Research Foundation. She started her own lab at Princeton University in 2013. Sabine’s research combines structural, biophysical, biochemical and cell biology methods to study the mechanism by which microtubules build cellular structures, allowing cells to attain a particular shape and function. More…


Drexel Prize in Translational Medicine awarded to Professor Jonathan Karn

Jonathan Karn, LMB 1976-2002, Postdoctoral staff and group leader, Cell Biology and PNAC

Professor Jonathan Karn has been awarded the 2016 Drexel Prize in Translational Medicine by the Institute for Molecular Medicine and Infectious Disease at Drexel University College of Medicine in Philadelphia for work on both how HIV multiplies and how it persists in the body despite powerful therapy. More…


Clotten Foundation Prize 2015 awarded to Professor Terry Rabbitts

Terry Rabbitts, LMB 1973-2006, Group Leader & Division Head, PNAC

Professor Terry Rabbitts has been awarded the inaugural Clotten Foundation Prize 2015 for discoveries on human antibody genes leading to therapeutic antibodies, and discoveries on chromosomal translocations in cancer leading to novel therapeutic approaches. More…


LMB CamAWiSE annual ‘What next for your career in science’ event

camawise 2016 speakers Hayley Sharpe / Burcu Babaoglan Fiehler / Ryan Fiehler

Hayley Sharpe, LMB 2006-2011, PhD Student, Cell Biology

The LMB and CambridgeAWiSE recently held their 10th annual ‘What next for your career in science’ event at the LMB. Three speakers from diverse scientific industries discussed their respective professional experiences. The networking event welcomed early career researchers from all over Cambridge to hear about these different career opportunities.



Knighthood for Richard Treisman

Richard Treisman, LMB 1984-1988, Scientific Staff, Director's Division

Richard Treisman, biochemist, molecular biologist and Research Director at the Francis Crick Institute, has been knighted in the Queen’s Birthday Honours for services to biomedical science and to cancer research. More…


Lauren Parker Jackson and Kristian Andersen named as Pew Scholars for Biomedical Sciences

Pew charitable trust logo

Lauren Parker Jackson, LMB 2003-2007, PhD Student, Structural Studies, Kristian Andersen, LMB 2004-2009, PhD Student, PNAC

The Pew Charitable Trusts have named 22 exceptional early-career scientists as Pew scholars in the biomedical sciences, including Lauren Parker Jackson and Kristian Andersen , both former LMB PhD students. More…


Jernej Ule and Ian Tomlinson elected to EMBO

EMBO logo

Jernej Ule, LMB 2006-2013, Tenure track programme leader, Structural Studies. Ian Tomlinson, LMB 1994-2001, Postdoctoral staff and group leader, PNAC.

Two former LMB group leaders have been named as new EMBO members. Jernej and Ian are among 58 new members to join EMBO, who elect new members annually on the basis of scientific excellence and outstanding research contributions. Jernej is now at The Francis Crick Institute and UCL Institute of Neurology, while Ian is at the Wellcome Trust Centre for Human Genetics, Oxford. More…


Steven Brenner named Fellow in International Group

Berkeley Logo

LMB 1993-1996, PhD student, Structural Studies

Former LMB PhD student Steven Brenner has been named a fellow by a prestigious computational biology association for his groundbreaking research in protein analysis and genetics. More


Beth Thompson: Data Protection and Medical Research

LMB 2004-2008, PhD student, Cell Biology Division

Former LMB PhD student, Beth Thompson, now works as a Senior Policy Advisor at the Wellcome Trust, focusing on the regulation of research. Beth led Wellcome’s advocacy work on the impact of the EU Data Protection Regulation, and writes about the outcome of that work. More


Cambridge’s 92 Nobel Prize winners

Cambridge News logo

Cambridge News’ has been rounding up all of Cambridge’s 92 Nobel Laureates, which includes 15 LMB scientists: 13 whose Nobel Prize winning research was conducted at the LMB, and 2 alumni who went on to carry out prize-winning research elsewhere: 1951 to 1974; 1974 to 1989; 1996 to 2015.  These articles are no longer available from the source website: Cambridge News 18 January 2016, 25 January 2016 and 1 February 2016