LMB Nobel Prizes

Nobel Prizes are international awards administered by the Nobel Foundation in Stockholm, Sweden. They are awarded annually for achievements in the fields of physics, chemistry, physiology or medicine, literature, peace and economic sciences. The work of LMB scientists has been awarded 12 Nobel prizes: 9 in the field of chemistry and 3 for physiology or medicine. These prizes celebrate key advances in primary scientific research and for developing pioneering techniques for molecular biology. The award of 2 Nobel prizes in the same year, 1962, established the Laboratory’s reputation as a leading international research centre.