Academy of Medical Sciences

The Academy of Medical Sciences is an independent body in the UK that represents the diverse spectrum of medical science – from basic research through clinical application to healthcare delivery. Their mission is to promote medical science and its translation into benefits for society. Fellows of the Academy are drawn from a range of professions and selected primarily for their outstanding contribution to the advancement of medical science, or for the application of existing scientific knowledge or understanding in an innovative way, so as to bring about advances in human health and welfare.

The following LMB scientists have been recognised by the Academy of Medical Sciences through election as Fellows or Honorary Fellows.


Felix RandowFelix Randow 2019
William SchaferWilliam Schafer 2018
Anne Bertolotti 2017
Jason Chin 2016
KJ Patel 2013
Andrew McKenzie 2011
Venki Ramakrishnan 2010 (Honorary Fellow)
Roger Williams 2010
Michael Hastings 2008
Tony Crowther 2007
Alan Fersht 2007
Mariann Bienz 2006
Michel Goedert 2006
Greg Winter 2006
Aaron Klug 2005 (Honorary Fellow)
Alan Warren 2005
David Barford 2003
César Milstein 2000 (Honorary Fellow)
Max Perutz 1999 (Honorary Fellow)
Fred Sanger 1999 (Honorary Fellow)
Richard Henderson 1998
Michael Neuberger 1998
Hugh Pelham 1998
Terry Rabbitts 1998
Nigel Unwin 1998