Cell Biology Division

The Division aims to understand the biological organisation of cells and organisms, and the molecular mechanisms underlying their function. These fundamental questions are addressed using a wide range of model organisms including yeast, slime moulds, nematodes, flies and mice, as well as cell culture and in vitro techniques. Despite this breadth, there are important shared themes that encourage synergy between groups. All have an interest in mechanistic explanations at a cellular level, and common approaches include the use of advanced microscopy and genetic techniques. The Division is also keen to contribute to the translation of fundamental discoveries into clinical advances.

Group Leaders

Scientific Facilities within the Division

Emeritus Scientists

Past Group Leaders

Joint Heads of Division:
Sean Munro and Ramanujan Hegde

Divisional Administrator:
Alison Turnock

Assistant Divisional Administrator:
Verena Taylor

Division of Cell Biology,
MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology,

Francis Crick Avenue,
Cambridge Biomedical Campus,
Cambridge CB2 0QH,

Tel: +44 (0) 1223 267030
Fax: +44 (0) 1223 213556